And here’s to you, graduation.

The end of June proved to surprisingly busy. There were two graduations, several visits from relatives, and the general adjustment to post-university life. I thought that this adjustment would happen suddenly and feel strange, and although it certainly made me very reflective, so far it hasn’t really felt that different. I think the reason for this could be that at the moment it still just feels like these are the summer holidays. It’s odd when you suddenly realise that this is the first time in your life where you don’t know exactly when the official end of those ‘summer holidays’ will be. Up until now there was always school or university, or work in the year before I came to university, to go back to. Now, it’s all up to us.

However, June was a month of celebration, we decided to put these thoughts on hold temporarily and enjoy all the exciting things that we had been looking forward to for months.

First, this guy graduated

looking very handsome and ………… sophisticated in his kilt.

.

looking very handsome and ……….. sophisticated in his kilt

.

.

.

.

Then my wonderful and amazing parents came to visit and spend a week with Fraser and me.

Now that I live so far away I try to treasure the times we spend together and remember as many little details as possible. I know that this trip is one I will often think of, we had a lot of fun and were even pretty lucky with the weather.

.

We wandered around Edinburgh, including a windswept climb up the Crags. 

We went on a lovely walk in Stockbridge on a beautiful sunny day.

.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. And just generally talked, laughed and enjoyed each other’s company. I can’t wait for them to come and stay again. Hopefully soon!

Then, towards the end of their visit, it was time for me to finally bid goodbye to my undergrad days. On June 28th I graduated. After a little dancing around in the morning to Simon and Garfunkel’s Mrs Robinson (any excuse for a little bit of S&G, as far as I’m concerned), we made our way to McEwan Hall on a rainy afternoon. 

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. The ceremony was lovely, if a little surreal, and, (would you believe it?), afterwards, the doors opened and we wandered out to the sound of bagpipes and glorious, glowing sunshine. The perfect weather to take a few photos of graduation gowns and strange, red graduation tubes.

My parents told me how proud they were and how much they had enjoyed the ceremony and I obligingly posed for photographs.

       

Seriously though, the thought that most prominently occupied my mind that day was how much I owe to these two people:

      

From the first day I walked through the doors of my Kindergarten to the moment I put down my pen in my final university exam, I have known that I have had their love and encouragement and complete support to just go and do whatever makes me happy. I have always felt that as much as a graduation is for all the students who have worked very hard to get their degrees, it is also about the parents who have given everything to ensure that we make it to that day.

Fraser and I both know this, and recognised this on the days of our graduation ceremony. But just in case we didn’t mention it enough, or perhaps because it can never be said too often, thank you to friends and family for the years of support and love, and, looking at these photos, specifically, thank you for:

        

………. Graduation cards, ……………………… chocolate graduation medals,

congratulatory graduation meals, and just generally for making it all worth it for these two graduates!

It has now been nearly a month since my graduation and I have had some time to reflect. However, it all still seems like it passed in a bit of a haze. And I don’t just mean the day of the ceremony. Four years of university just flew by. I remember being inside McEwan Hall during Fresher’s week four years ago, wide-eyed and overwhelmed with new experiences. I had no idea what university would really be like. I can say with all confidence that it has been better, in every way, than I could have anticipated. So maybe that is what I need to remember now for the next stage. There is always the chance that it will be better than anything you could have ever imagined.

2 thoughts on “And here’s to you, graduation.

Leave a Reply

