Cake Day

Ok, I’ve had enough of the snow. Truthfully, I had had enough of the snow several weeks ago, but apparently no one has told Edinburgh that it is supposed to be approaching spring. So Tuesday morning we woke up to this funny, flakey, white stuff tumbling from the skies. All night I had heard the wind whistling through the streets and rattling our windows and to put it simply, all day, it was freezing. It was one of those ‘definitely stay in doors and keep warm’ days. So I did.

Luckily this day of freeze coincided with something we, in this household, have been very much looking forward to. For the past month, as part of a healthy eating experiment,  Fraser and I have given up all forms of sweet food, this included biscuits, cakes, sweets, sugary drinks and, most painfully for me, all forms of chocolate. I love chocolate and have missed it greatly these past weeks. But, Tuesday, this self-imposed ban was finally over. And to celebrate, I decided to bake a cake. A delicious chocolate-orange cake.

The absolute best way to be reunited with sweet food, I can tell you! So the snow and rain continued throughout the day, but we didn’t mind, we had cake.

IMG_6232

2 thoughts on “Cake Day

Leave a Reply

